|
|
 |
RE: FN-FORUM panicnot
date posted 18th July 2001 15:38
I wouldn't have thought it was illegal, though it probably should be. There
are a number of sites in the UK that charge for registering ones
professional details CVs etc. Including one for Artists that used to be
endorsed by the Arts council of Wales (who should know better, especially
after my ranting letters) I suppose they see it as being like paying for
an advert in any publication.
Saying that though it might be a grey area in some cases since the Web is
somewhat different in nature than a printed publication and I suppose it
would depend whether in using the Web, a company or organisation were seen
as running an employment agency. Perhaps it is one of those areas where the
law needs to be clarified.
I certainly avoid paying money up front to such Websites because there are
plenty of high profile sites that don't charge. If a site is charging one
needs to ask questions like: How many hits does it get? How many people have
got work? And is this going to be cost effective? Given that anyone (even a
crook) could set up a website and start charging people £75 to display a CV,
there are no guarantees whatsoever and in a sense one could see it as a
confidence trick and open to abuse. Though whether one would get anywhere in
reporting such sites to the Trading Standards authority is another matter,
though complaints do tend to count in regard to future legislation and/or
whether a test case can be instigated.
Nick
http://www.artberry.net
> -----Original Message-----
> From: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> [EMAIL REMOVED] Behalf Of Derek Clarke
> Sent: 17 July 2001 18:42
> To: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> Subject: RE: FN-FORUM panicnot
>
>
> Someone's asking for money to register your CV?
>
> That sounds rather close to being an agency asking for money up
> front, which is illegal.
>
> [EMAIL REMOVED] (Nicholas Berry) wrote:
>
> > It looks good in one way insofar as potential clients can look up your
> > CV
> > and portfolio for free and without filling in any forms. But at £75= to
> > register your CV it's not cheap. OK if it brings in the work though,
> > though
> > speaking for myself I would need to see a hell of a lot of hard
> > evidence of
> > the potential earnings from work through the site before parting with
> > that
> > sort of money otherwise I might do better investing it in the National
> > lottery, especially since there are plenty of possibly better known
> > sites
> > where one can register for free, such as Arthire.
> > Nick
> >
> > http://www.artberry.net
> >
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> > [EMAIL REMOVED] Behalf Of Paul Cooklin
> > (egroups)
> > Sent: 17 July 2001 01:17
> > To: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> > Subject: Re: FN-FORUM panicnot
> >
> >
> > That makes more sense. You wrote 'i use www.panic.com'
> > I'll have a look. Many thanks.
> >
> > Paul.
> > ----- Original Message -----
> > From: Matt Russell
> > To: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> > Sent: Monday, July 16, 2001 11:27 PM
> > Subject: RE: FN-FORUM panicnot
> >
> >
> > ... am i missing something?
> >
> > -------------------------
> > Matt Russell
> > http://www.i-fire.co.uk
> > i:fire digital media
> > -------------------------
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> > [EMAIL REMOVED] Behalf Of russell wenban
> > Sent: 16 July 2001 22:59
> > To: [EMAIL REMOVED]
> > Subject: Re: FN-FORUM panicnot
> >
> >
> > its www.panicnot.com i use not (panic.com)
> >
>
>
> ============================================================
>
> * Free listing for freelancers
> * Free to advertise jobs
> * Free jobs distribution service
> * Free database of 1000 freelancers
>
> Freelancers and Freelance Jobs
> http://www.freelancers.net
>
> To post to the Forum:
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> To unsubscribe please email:
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> If you have difficulties unsubscribing please email:
> [EMAIL REMOVED]
>
> To subscribe to the digest for this list or for further
> information please visit:
> http://www.freelancers.net/forum.html
|
 |
|