Freelancers Network
 
skill list top cap
Homepage
Join the Freelancer's Network
Update your details
Find a freelancer
Post a project
Find a project
Projects Archive
Post a job
Find a job
Jobs Archive
See Dan's Pages
See Andy's Pages
Link to this site
Resources
Join/Leave Forum
Forum Messages
+Additions+ Adverts
Advertising
Contact Us
Subscribe to our newsletter - enter your email address and hit return
Freelancers.net is owned and operated by Andy Stowell and Dan Winchester
skill list end cap
guru web hostcom

Find me again on Freelancers.net

Re: FN-FORUM: China site spam

date posted 6th May 2006 18:17

Sam,

You do not say whether you host the server or whether your ISP does, and
therefore if you can do the blocking.

On a general note though, you could send an email back with a message
something like this, preferably in English and Chinese:

"We have detected you are illegally sending mail to and through our servers.
We have notified PSB in Beijing of your activity."

This should be enough to encourage IP pirates to go elsewhere.

The PSB are China's state Police - hugely feared in China they are in fact
quite good at tracking things and dealing with them (at 2% China has the
lowest crime rate in the world). Although they monitor over 30% of China's
email activity a direct contact will guide them to track things down, thus
helping you and detecting Internet bandits in their homeland. You can make
contact and complaint in English to their consular department of commerce in
the UK at [EMAIL REMOVED] Include header information. It may
not look like it to you but the department will pass your message to PSB who
will track things. They are very keen to have a good world image in the
run-up to the Beijing Olympics and cooperate with the terms of the WTO.

If you have on any of your servers information negative to China, such as
about Falun Gung, then that could be the cause of people targetting your
systems.

Be aware that if you look at China's official website you should after
closing your browser immediately run cleaning software like Crap Cleaner.

HTH,

Mike A.

Craig wrote:
> I'm getting that as well. Every week I get a couple of emails from
> my sites contact page and it's all in Chinese. I even went to the
> trouble of displaying their IP address and saying it would be
> recorded (though of course it isn't) and then even doing a random
> background behind a random number you have to enter before the page
> will submit! So they're obviously keen enough to do this by hand!
>
> Craig
>
> -----Original Message-----
>
>
> Hi Guys,
>
> Need some advice. My web server is being bombarded by calls to non
> existent WebPages (hit and hope hacking AFAICS) on two different
> sites on the same server all from IPs in China. I've read about this
> happening in a few forums but don't know what to do about it. Can
> anyone advise?
>
> Should I just let it happen or try to block the huge range of ips
> these calls are coming from or what? Any advice would be great full.
>
> Regards
>
> Sam Morgan
>
> WiredEyes / WebClickGo
> tel (Uk): +44 (0)20 7100 2178 / tel (Italy): +39 070 766 242
> fax (uk): 0871 433 2278 / fax (Italy): 070 330 9939
> web : www.wiredeyes.com / www.webclickgo.com
> ----
> umop ap!sdn w,! aw dlaH




Messages by Day
May 31st 2006
May 30th 2006
May 29th 2006
May 28th 2006
May 27th 2006
May 26th 2006
May 25th 2006
May 24th 2006
May 23rd 2006
May 22nd 2006
May 21st 2006
May 20th 2006
May 19th 2006
May 18th 2006
May 17th 2006
May 16th 2006
May 15th 2006
May 14th 2006
May 13th 2006
May 12th 2006
May 11th 2006
May 10th 2006
May 9th 2006
May 8th 2006
May 7th 2006
May 6th 2006
May 5th 2006
May 4th 2006
May 3rd 2006
May 2nd 2006
May 1st 2006


Messages by Month
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
January 2006


Messages by Year
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000