|
|
 |
Re: FN-FORUM: Fraudulent emails
date posted 26th May 2006 12:30
Digital Delirium wrote:
> Just to alert you all to a fraudulent e-mail circulating, claiming to be a
> hosting company...
> Following a flaudulent e-mail which I received yesterday, I forwarded it to
> Value Host, and got the following response :
>
> RE: Phishing Warning!!!
>
> ALERT: Someone is sending spam e-mail using our name (Valuehost)!
>
> LATEST UPDATES: http://www.valuehost.co.uk/noc/
Whilst it does seem to come from Valuehost and includes a genuine link
to their site, it's not a phishing attempt - the payload attached in a
zip file to the email demanding you login and clear a chargeback is
actually a trojan downloader (new variant) that may not yet be
recognised by your AV software.
If anyone sends you a .exe attached to an email, don't click it!
(you know it makes sense.)
;o)
--
Join me: http://wiki.workalone.co.uk/
Thank me: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/registry/1VK42TQL7VD2F
Engage me: http://www.boldfish.co.uk/portfolio/
|
 |
|